August 13, 2012

My Friday Review: Witch Way to Turn

So, my review this week is being pushed up a few days to accomodate my first time participating in another author's tour!  I am so excited to share Witch Way to Turn by Karen Y. Bynum with you as part of Bewitching Book Tours.  Keep reading below to find out more about the book, Karen, and the giveaway!





Title: Witch Way To Turn


My Rating: 4.5 conch


Summary:

Can you give one guy your heart and another your soul?

The last thing eighteen-year-old Breena Cross needs in her life is more complications. It’s all she can do to balance studying, working, trying to keep her foster-sister safe and drooling over the new guy at work. But things go from complicated to crazy when a fit of rage ignites the dark magic inside her and she finds herself fending off the supernatural underworld.
 

Myles, Breena’s drool-worthy coworker and vampire convict, is carrying a load of secrets--one of which is that he’s fang-over-lip in love with Breena and in danger of violating the terms of his sentence.
 

Orin is a soul-hungry assassin sent to kill Breena. However, he takes one look into her eyes and sees his own lost humanity. For once thinking of someone other than himself, he chooses not to end her life, even though it means risking his own.

Despite a convict and an assassin fighting over her, all Breena wants is custody of her sister. But to do this, she will need help from both Myles and Orin. And if Breena doesn’t learn to control the darkness within, she could lose her sister…forever.
 

WARNING: Contains strong language and some graphic content.

The Review: Breena Cross has had a tough life and is determined to make a better one for her younger sister, Jenny.  Unfortunately, finding out the truth about her parents is about to make her a target in a hidden supernatural world.  I thoroughly enjoyed this story and am looking forward to more from the author.  Karen created an interesting set of characters whose lives are more intertwined than originally hinted, and who are easily relatable and likeable.  Breena is tough, fiercely protective, and left wondering if she deserves anything better.  I really liked the idea of a vampire convict watching over her and protecting her from the preternatural assassin.  The mythology was interesting and a refreshing change from typical vampire, werewolf, witch stories.  Although at first I was a little worried this would be another “look at you for five minutes and I’m in love” type of relationship, I was happy to see Breena’s inner struggle with her feelings over the two guys and was very happy with the outcome…for now.  It’s obvious that there is more to come, and am very much looking forward to the next installment.
 

The Good: Great pacing, well developed storyline, interesting characters, and enough of a interest to look forward to the next book.

The Issue: Although not a major issue, I got a little annoyed with the consistent inner monologue.  I felt that the author did enough within the dialogue and reactions that it wasn’t necessary.  But still…a very minor complaint.
 

The Rating: 4.5 conch.  Fans of Kelley Armstrong, Kim Harrison, and Charlaine Harris will surely enjoy this book.




Tour wide giveaway

$25 Amazon Gift card

$15 Starbuck Gift card

2 ebook copies Witch Way to Turn

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY HERE!




Author Bio:
Karen Y. Bynum is an author of young adult paranormal fantasy.  Her novel Witch Way to Turn is published through Lyrical Press.  She grew up in Hickory, North Carolina where mountains and magic surrounded her.  Even as a child, she wrote her own faery tales and prattled incessantly to her imaginary friends.

After graduating from UNC Charlotte with a Bachelor’s degree in Mass Media Communications, she went on to become certified in culinary arts from The Art Institute of Charlotte.  But it wasn’t until her aerospace engineer husband accepted a job in Virginia and they relocated that she knew what she wanted to be when she grew up.

With the support of family and friends, Karen embarked on a journey with the voices in her head.  They wouldn’t stop talking (yes, she does answer back) and their stories took shape.

Karen currently lives in coastal Virginia and enjoys reading, tweeting, writing and spending time with her husband and their spoiled rotten Vizsla named Rusty.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R4ir6uvdq3E

13 comments:

  1. Hi Amber!

    Thank you so much for hosting me on your blog and taking the time to review Witch Way to Turn. I appreciate your kind words and am excited that you enjoyed! There is definitely more to come for the Rhodhiss supes :) I'm very close to being finished writing book #2! I look forward to sharing it with you. Thank you again.

    Faithfully writing,
    ~karen

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You're very welcome Karen! Best of luck with your writing career! :)

      Delete
  2. What a lovely review! This one is definitely on my TBR list. Thank you for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you Melissa! My pleasure! Really appreciate you dropping by to comment :)

      Delete
    2. It's a really good book! I was completely entertained and reading it every time I had a break! :)

      Delete
    3. Thank you very much for those kind words Amber! I'm so happy that you enjoyed! :D

      Delete
  3. Holy doodle, what an awesome review!!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Brenda! Thank you so much!! Really appreciate you stopping by to comment :)

      Delete
    2. Thanks for checking it out Brenda!

      Delete
  4. Fantastic review, Karen! Can't wait to read this. The more I hear about it, the more I want to slide it up the TBR pile. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Jenna! Woot!! *sings* Movin' on up!! ;) Thank you for stopping by to comment :)

      Delete
    2. Definitely one for the TBR pile. :) Thanks for your comment Jenna!

      Delete